

## MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF

# The Honourable the House of Assembly

At a meeting of the House of Assembly at the Parliament Buildings on Tuesday, the 10th day of May, 2016, pursuant to the adjournment.

#### **PRESENT**

His Honour M. A. Carrington, Q.C., B.A., LL.B. (*Speaker*) Her Honour Mrs. M-J. M. Thompson, B.A., M.Sc. (Ph. Ed.) (*Deputy Speaker*)

Rt. Hon. O. S. Arthur, M.Sc. (Econ.)

Mr. G. W. Payne, Q.C.

Mr. G. A. Clarke, J.P., B.Sc., Dip. Ed.

Mr. R. St. C. Toppin, LL.B. (Hons.)

Hon. D. St. E. Kellman (Minister of Housing, Lands and Rural Development)

Hon. Miss M. A. Mottley, Q.C., LL.B. (*Leader of the Opposition*)

Miss C. Y. Forde, J.P., L.C.P.

Hon. R. D. Jones, J.P., B.A. (Hons.), M.A. Ed. (Minister of Education, Science, Technology and Innovation)

Dr. the Hon. D. C. Estwick, B.Sc., M.B., B.S. (Minister of Agriculture, Food, Fisheries and Water Resource Management)

Hon. M. A. Lashley, LL.B. (Hons.) (Minister of Transport and Works)

Hon. R. L. Sealy, B.Sc., M.B.A. (Minister of Tourism and International Transport)

Rt. Hon. F. J. Stuart, Q.C., B.A., LL.M. (Prime Minister, Minister of National Security, The Public Service and Urban Development)

Hon. J. D. E. Boyce, M.Sc., C. Eng. (Minister of Health) (Leader of the House)

Hon. S. D. Blackett (Minister of Social Care, Constituency Empowerment and Community Development)

Mr. J. D. Paul, B.Sc. (Chairman of Committees)

Dr. the Hon. D. S. Lowe, Dip. Theology, B.A., M.Ed., Ed.D. (*Minister of Environment and Drainage*)

Hon. A. D. Brathwaite, Q.C., LL.B. (Hons.)

(Attorney General and Minister of Home Affairs)

Hon. S. A. Lashley, B.Sc., LL.B. (Hons.), L.E.C. (Minister of Culture, Sports and Youth)

Hon. D. O'N. Inniss, B.Sc., M.B.A. (Minister of Industry, International Business, Commerce and Small Business Development)

Hon. C. P. Sinckler, B.A., M.Sc. (Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs)

Mr. K. D. Symmonds, B.A., LL.B.

Lt. Col. J. D. Bostic, MVO, B.A. (Hons.).

Mr. E. G. Hinkson, LL.B. (Hons.), L.E.C., LL.M.

Dr. M. M. Agard, J.P., B.Sc., M.Sc., D.D.S.

Mr. D. G. Sutherland, B.Sc., M.Sc., M.B.A. (Dist.) and

Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw, LL.B. (Hons.)

#### **ABSENT**

Mr. D. D. Marshall, Q.C., LL.B. (Hons.), L.E.C. and Mr. T. A. Prescod, B.A.

Mr. Speaker took the Chair at 10.15 a.m.

Prayers were taken by Rev. Father Mark Harewood.

#### **MINUTES**

The Minutes of the meeting of Tuesday, 3rd May, 2016 were deffered on the motion of Hon. J. D. E. Boyce seconded by Hon. A. D. Brathwaite.

#### **PAPERS**

Hon. C. P. Sinckler by command laid the Duties, Taxes and Other Payments (Exemption) (Mary White) Order, 2016.

#### ORDERS OF THE DAY

#### SUSPENSION OF STANDING ORDERS

On the motion of Hon. J. D. E. Boyce seconded by Hon. A. D. Brathwaite Standing Orders 6, 16, 18, 20, 42(5), 43 and 44 were suspended for the remainder of the day's Sitting.

## PRIVATE MEMBERS' BUSINESS ORDER NO. 6

Hon Miss M. A. Mottley began to speak on the following Resolution:

BE IT RESOLVED that this Honourable House has no confidence in the Government of Barbados.

Mr. Speaker spoke.

Hon. Miss M. A. Mottley resumed her speech.

#### **SUSPENSION**

On the motion of Hon. J. D. E. Boyce seconded by Hon. A. D. Brathwaite the Sitting was suspended to 2.15 p.m.

At 12.45 p.m. the Speaker suspended the Sitting.

#### RESUMPTION

#### PRIVATE MEMBERS' BUSINESS (resumed)

#### **ORDER NO. 6 (resumed)**

Mr. Speaker in the Chair.

Hon. Miss M. A. Mottley resumed her speech.

Mr. Speaker spoke.

Hon. Miss M. A. Mottley resumed her speech.

Mr. Speaker spoke and the Member took her seat. There upon Mr. Speaker ruled that certain demonstrative aids sought to be used by the Member were not supported by the Standing Orders.

Hon. Miss M. A. Mottley resumed her speech.

Mr. Speaker spoke and the Member withdrew certain remarks.

Hon. Miss M. A. Mottley resumed her speech.

Mr. Speaker spoke.

Hon. Miss M. A. Mottley resumed her speech.

The Speaker spoke.

Hon. Miss M. A. Mottley resumed her speech.

The Speaker spoke.

Hon. Miss M. A. Mottley resumed her speech.

The Speaker spoke.

Hon. Miss M. A. Mottley resumed her speech.

The Speaker spoke.

Hon. Miss M. A. Mottley concluded her speech and moved seconded by Mr. K. D. Symmonds that the Resolution do now pass.

Hon. Miss M. A. Mottley spoke.

Mr. Speaker spoke.

Mr. K. D. Symmonds spoke.

#### SUSPENSION

On the motion of Hon. J. D. E. Boyce seconded by Hon. R. D. Jones the Sitting was suspended to 6.15 p.m.

At 6.00 p.m. the Speaker suspended the Sitting.

#### RESUMPTION

## PRIVATE MEMBERS' BUSINESS (resumed)

**ORDER NO. 6 (resumed)** 

Mr. Speaker in the Chair.

Lt. Col. J. D. Bostic spoke.

Mr. D. G. Sutherland began to speak.

Mr. Speaker spoke.

Mr. D. G. Sutherland concluded his speech.

Mr. G. A. Clarke spoke.

#### **SUSPENSION**

On the motion of Hon. J. D. E. Boyce seconded by Hon. A. D. Brathwaite the Sitting was suspended to 8.30 p.m.

At 7.45 p.m. the Speaker suspended the Sitting.

#### RESUMPTION

## PRIVATE MEMBERS' BUSINESS (resumed)

ORDER NO. 6 (resumed)

Mr. Speaker in the Chair.

Miss C. Y. Forde spoke.

Mr. E. G. Hinkson spoke.

Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw spoke.

Mr. R. St. C. Toppin spoke.

Hon. D. St. E. Kellman began to speak.

Mr. E. G. Hinkson spoke on a point of order.

Mr. Speaker ruled no point of order.

Hon. D. St. E. Kellman resumed his speech.

Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw spoke on a point of order.

Mr. Speaker ruled no point of order.

Hon. D. St. E. Kellman resumed his speech.

Mr. G. A. Clarke spoke on a point of order.

Mr. Speaker ruled no point of order.

Hon. D. St. E. Kellman resumed his speech.

Mr. Speaker spoke.

Hon. D. St. E. Kellman resumed his speech.

Mr. G. A. Clarke spoke on a point of order.

Mr. Speaker ruled no point of order.

Hon. D. St. E. Kellman resumed his speech.

Mr. Speaker spoke and the Member withdrew certain remarks.

Hon. D. St. E. Kellman resumed his speech.

Mr. E. G. Hinkson spoke on a point of order.

Hon. D. St. E. Kellman concluded his speech.

Hon. R. L. Sealy began his speech.

Mr. G. W. Payne spoke on a point of order.

Mr. Speaker ruled no point of order.

Hon. R. L. Sealy resumed his speech.

Mr. Speaker spoke and the Member withdrew certain remarks.

Hon. R. L. Sealy concluded his remarks.

On the motion of Hon. J. D. E. Boyce seconded by Hon. R. D. Jones further consideration of the motion was postponed.

### **ADJOURNMENT**

On the motion of Hon. J. D. E. Boyce seconded by Hon. R. D. Jones the House was adjourned to Thursday, 12th May, 2016 at 3.00 p.m.

At 11.40 p.m. the Speaker adjourned the House.

### RICHARD P. BYER Deputy Clerk of Parliament.

The Minutes were certified correct and confirmed the , 2016.

day of

Speaker.

HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS BRIDGETOWN.

## HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY

## **FIRST SESSION OF 2013 – 2018**

## MINUTES

Tuesday, 10th May, 2016.

Government Printing Department.