

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF

The Honourable the House of Assembly

At a meeting of the House of Assembly at the Parliament Buildings on Tuesday, the 19th day of July, 2016, pursuant to the adjournment.

PRESENT

His Honour M. A. Carrington, Q.C., B.A., LL.B. (Speaker) Her Honour Mrs. M-J. M. Thompson, B.A., M.Sc. (Ph. Ed.) (Deputy Speaker)

Rt. Hon. O. S. Arthur, M.Sc. (Econ.)

Mr. G. A. Clarke, J.P., B.Sc., Dip. Ed.

Mr. R. St. C. Toppin, LL.B. (Hons.)

Hon. D. St. E. Kellman (Minister of Housing, Lands and Rural Development)

Hon. Miss M. A. Mottley, Q.C., LL.B. (*Leader* of the Opposition)

Miss C. Y. Forde, J.P., L.C.P.

Hon. R. D. Jones, J.P., B.A. (Hons.), M.A. Ed. (Minister of Education, Science, Technology and Innovation)

Dr. the Hon. D. C. Estwick, B.Sc., M.B., B.S. (Minister of Agriculture, Food, Fisheries and Water Resource Management)

Mr. D. D. Marshall, Q.C., LL.B. (Hons.), L.E.C. Hon. M. A. Lashley, LL.B. (Hons.) (Minister of Transport and Works)

Hon. R. L. Sealy, B.Sc., M.B.A. (Minister of Tourism and International Transport)

Rt. Hon. F. J. Stuart, Q.C., B.A., LL.M. (Prime Minister, Minister of National Security, The Public Service and Urban Development)

Hon. J. D. E. Boyce, M.Sc., C. Eng. (Minister of Health) (Leader of the House)

Hon. S. D. Blackett (Minister of Social Care, Constituency Empowerment and Community Development)

Mr. J. D. Paul, B.Sc. (*Chairman of Committees*)
Dr. the Hon. D. S. Lowe, Dip. Theology, B.A., M.Ed.,
Ed.D. (*Minister of Environment and Drainage*),

Hon. A. D. Brathwaite, Q.C., LL.B. (Hons.)
(Attorney General and Minister of Home Affairs)

Hon. S. A. Lashley, B.Sc., LL.B. (Hons.), L.E.C. (Minister of Culture, Sports and Youth)

Hon. D. O'N. Inniss, B.Sc., M.B.A. (Minister of Industry, International Business, Commerce and Small Business Development)

Hon. C. P. Sinckler, B.A., M.Sc. (Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs)

Mr. T. A. Prescod, B.A.

Mr. K. D. Symmonds, B.A., LL.B.

Lt. Col. J. D. Bostic, MVO, B.A. (Hons.)

Mr. E. G. Hinkson, LL.B. (Hons.), L.E.C., LL.M.

Dr. M. M. Agard, J.P., B.Sc., M.Sc., D.D.S

Mr. D. G. Sutherland, B.Sc., M.Sc., M.B.A. (Dist.)

Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw, LL.B. (Hons.)

ABSENT

Mr. G. W. Payne, Q.C.

Mr. Speaker took the Chair at 10.15 a.m.

Prayers were taken by Rev. Father Mark Harewood.

MINUTES

The Minutes of the meeting of Tuesday, 12th July, 2016 were deferred on the motion of Hon. J. D. E. Boyce seconded by Hon. A. D. Brathwaite.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY HIS HONOUR

THE SPEAKER

Mr. Speaker announced the death of Mrs. Cicely Monica Giraudy the mother of Her Honour Mrs. M-J. M. Thompson.

The Members assembled observed a minute of silence as a mark of respect and the Chaplain pronounced the Benediction.

Mr. Speaker recognized the presence of a number of legal Trainees who were present to observe the Sitting.

PAPERS

Hon. J. D. E. Boyce by command laid the Central Bank of Barbados 2015 Annual Report.

ORDERS OF THE DAY

SUSPENSION OF STANDING ORDERS

On the motion of Hon. J. D. E. Boyce seconded by Hon. A. D. Brathwaite Standing Orders 6, 16, 18, 20, 42(5), 43 and 44 were suspended for the remainder of the Sitting.

GOVERNMENT BUSINESS

ORDER NO. 16

CONSTITUTION (AMENDMENT) BILL, 2016

On the Order being called Rt. Hon. F. J. Stuart to move the second reading of the Bill entitled an Act to alter the Constitution of Barbados,

the Rt. Hon. Member began to speak and gave way.

Mr. Speaker spoke.

Rt. Hon. F. J. Stuart resumed and concluded his speech and moved seconded by Hon. J. D. E. Boyce that the Bill be read a second time.

Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw spoke.

Hon. J. D. E. Boyce began to speak.

Mr. Speaker spoke.

Hon. Miss M. A. Mottley began to speak.

Mr. Speaker spoke.

Hon. Miss M. A. Mottley resumed her speech.

Rt. Hon. F. J. Stuart spoke on a point of elucidation.

Hon. Miss M. A. Mottley resumed her speech.

Rt. Hon. F. J. Stuart spoke on a point of order.

Hon. Miss M. A. Mottley resumed her speech.

Mr. Speaker spoke.

Hon. Miss M. A. Mottley concluded her speech.

Rt. Hon. O. S. Arthur began to speak.

Hon. Miss M. A. Mottley began to speak on a point of order.

Mr. Speaker spoke.

Hon. Miss M. A. Mottley concluded her point of order.

Rt. Hon. O. S. Arthur resumed his speech.

Hon. Miss M. A. Mottley spoke on a point of order.

Rt. Hon. O. S. Arthur resumed his speech.

Hon. Miss M. A. Mottley spoke on a point of order.

Mr. Speaker ruled no point of order and direct that the entire contents of the point of order be struck from the record.

Rt. Hon. O. S. Arthur concluded his speech.

SUSPENSION

On the motion of Hon. J. D. E. Boyce seconded by Rt. Hon. F. J. Stuart the Sitting was suspended until 2.00 p.m.

At 12.34 p.m. Mr. Speaker suspended the Sitting.

RESUMPTION

On resumption Mr. Speaker resumed the Chair.

ORDER NO. 16 (resumed)

Hon. D. St. E. Kellman spoke.

Hon. S. A. Lashley spoke.

Hon. D. O'N. Inniss began to speak.

Mr. E. G. Hinkson spoke on a point of order.

Hon. D. O'N. Inniss concluded his speech.

Mr. Speaker vacated the Chair in favour of the Deputy Speaker.

Hon. A. D. Brathwaite spoke.

Hon. C. P. Sinckler spoke.

Mr. Speaker resumed the Chair.

Mr. K. D. Symmonds spoke.

Hon. M. A. Lashley began to speak.

Mr. K. D. Symmonds spoke on a point of order.

Hon. M. A. Lashley concluded his speech.

Rt. Hon. F. J. Stuart spoke in reply.

The Bill was read a second time.

On the motion of Rt. Hon. F. J. Stuart seconded by Hon. J. D. E. Boyce the House went into Committee, Mr. J. D. Paul in the Chair.

Clauses 1 to 3 were called and passed on the separate motion of Rt. Hon. F. J. Stuart seconded by Hon. J. D. E. Boyce.

On the motion of Rt. Hon. F. J. Stuart seconded by Hon. J. D. E. Boyce the Chairman reported the passing of the Bill in Committee and Mr. Speaker resumed the Chair and reported accordingly.

On the motion of Rt. Hon. F. J. Stuart seconded by Hon. J. D. E. Boyce the Bill was read a third time.

Rt. Hon. F. J. Stuart moved seconded by Hon. J. D. E. Boyce that the Bill be passed and cited.

The House voted as follows:

Ayes: Rt. Hon. F. J. Stuart, Honourables J. D. E. Boyce, A. D. Brathwaite, R. D. Jones, Dr. D. C. Estwick, M. A. Lashley, R. L. Sealy, S. D. Blackett, Dr. D. S. Lowe, D. O'N. Inniss, C. P. Sinckler, D. St. E. Kellman, Rt. Hon. O. S. Arthur, Mr. J. D. Paul, Her Honour Mrs. M-J. M. Thompson and Dr. M. M. Agard – 17.

Abstentions: Hon. Miss M. A. Mottley, Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw, Messrs. R. St. C. Toppin and Mr. G. A. Clarke, Miss C. Y. Forde, Messrs. K. D. Symmonds, T. A. Prescod, D. G. Sutherland, E. G. Hinkson and Lt. Col. J. D. Bostic – 11.

The vote did not meet the threshold required by Section 49(2) of the Constitution and therefore not passed.

ADJOURNMENT

Hon. J. D. E. Boyce moved seconded by Rt. Hon. F. J. Stuart the adjournment of the House to Tuesday, 9th August, 2016 at 10.00 a.m. and spoke.

Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw spoke.

The motion was passed.

At 5.35 p.m. Mr. Speaker adjourned the Sitting.

N. R. JONES Deputy Clerk of Parliament.

The Minutes were certified correct and confirmed the , 2016.

day of

Speaker.

HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS BRIDGETOWN.

HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY

FIRST SESSION OF 2013 – 2018

MINUTES

Tuesday, 19th July, 2016.

Government Printing Department.