OBJECTS AND REASONS

This Bill would amend the Pharmacy Act, Cap. 372D to provide for

- (a) an increase in the number of persons who may serve on the Pharmacy Council;
- (b) the appointment of the Chairman and Deputy Chairman of the Pharmacy Council by the Minister responsible for Health; and
- (c) related matters.

Arrangement of Sections

- **1.** Short title
- 2. Amendment of section 10 of Cap. 372D
- **3.** Amendment of the First Schedule to Cap. 372D

SCHEDULE

BARBADOS

A Bill entitled

An Act to amend the *Pharmacy Act*, Cap. 372D to provide for an increase in the number of persons who may serve on the Pharmacy Council and the appointment of the Chairman and Deputy Chairman of the Council by the Minister responsible for Health.

ENACTED by the Parliament of Barbados as follows:

Short title

1. This Act may be cited as the *Pharmacy (Amendment) Act, 2015.*

Amendment of section 10 of Cap. 372D

2. The Pharmacy Act, in this Act referred to as the principal Act is amended by deleting section 10 and substituting the following:

"Establishment of Pharmacy Council

10. There is established, for the purposes of this Act, a Council to be known as the Pharmacy Council and the First Schedule has effect in relation to the constitution of the Council and otherwise in relation thereto. ".

Amendment of the First Schedule to Cap. 372D

3. The principal Act is amended by deleting the First Schedule and substituting the First Schedule contained in the Schedule to this Act.

SCHEDULE

(Section 3)

"FIRST SCHEDULE

(Section 10)

- **1.** The Council shall comprise
 - (a) the Director of the Barbados Drug Service ex officio; and
 - (b) 8 persons appointed by the Minister by instrument in writing as follows:
 - (i) one medical practitioner appointed by the Minister, after consultation with the Barbados Association of Medical Practitioners;
 - (ii) 3 pharmacists appointed by the Minister, after consultation with the Barbados Pharmaceutical Society;
 - (iii) one pharmacist engaged in the teaching of pharmacy, appointed by the Minister after consultation with the principal or other person in charge of an institution in which pharmacy is taught, where that institution is recognized by the Ministry of Education as an institution for the teaching of pharmacy; and
 - (iv) 3 persons, at the Minister's discretion.

2. The Minister shall appoint from among the members of the Council, a Chairman who shall be a registered pharmacist, and a Deputy Chairman.

3. A member of the Council, other than an *ex officio* member, may resign his office by a letter in writing, addressed to the Minister.

4. In the event that a person ceases to hold office before the expiry of his term, the Minister may, subject to the necessary recommendation, if required, appoint a suitable person to hold office for the unexpired portion of that term.

5. The Chairman shall preside at meetings of the Council and, in his absence, the Deputy Chairman shall preside.

6. In the absence at a meeting of both the Chairman and the Deputy Chairman, the members present and constituting a quorum shall elect one of their number to act as Chairman for that meeting.

7. Six members of the Council present at a meeting shall constitute a quorum.

8. The Council shall meet at such places and times and as often as is necessary for the proper conduct of its business.

9. Each member of the Council, except an *ex officio* member, shall hold office for a term of 2 years and is eligible for re-appointment.

10. A decision of the Council shall be made by a majority of votes but where voting is equal the Chairman has a casting vote.

11. The Permanent Secretary shall assign a person, not being a member of Council, to perform the functions of the Secretary.

12. Decisions of the Council shall be recorded in writing and shall be signed by the Chairman for that meeting.

13. Subject to the Schedule, the Council may regulate its own procedure.

14. The Minister may, in writing, revoke the appointment of any member of the Council.".

Read three times and passed the House of Assembly this day of , 2015.

Speaker

Read three times and passed the Senate this day of , 2015.

President