

ORDER PAPER

OF

THE HONOURABLE THE HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY

FIRST SESSION OF 2022–2027

FORTY-THIRD SITTING

at

10.00 o'clock a.m.

on

Tuesday, 16th May, 2023

The First Meeting of the First Session of the Parliament of 2022-2027 was held on 4th February, 2022

MANAGEMENT COMMISSION OF PARLIAMENT

(Parliament (Administration) Act, Cap. 10 – Section 3(4))

The following are ex officio Members of the Commission:

His Honour A. E. Holder (Chairman), Hon. Miss M. A. Mottley, Q.C. and Hon. Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw.

Section 3(4) of the Parliament (Administration) Act, Cap. 10.

The following are appointed Members of the Commission:

Hon. G. P. I. Gooding-Edghill, Hon. C. E. Jordan, Mr. P. R. Phillips, J.P. and Ms. T. N. S-A. Moore, J.P.

Appointed on 4th February, 2022.

SESSIONAL SELECT COMMITTEES

COMMITTEE OF PRIVILEGES

To consider and report to the Honourable the House of Assembly on all matters which involve the privileges of the Honourable the House of Assembly.

The Members of the Committee are:

His Honour A. E. Holder (Chairman) ex officio, Dr. R. O. Springer, J.P., Hon. K. D. M. Humphrey, His Honour N. G. H. Rowe, J.P., Miss C. Y. Forde, J.P. and Hon. W. A. Abrahams,

Appointed on 4th February, 2022.

Hon. G. P. I. Gooding-Edghill.

Appointed on 25th April, 2023.

COMMITTEE OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTS

To examine the accounts showing the appropriation of the sums granted by Parliament to meet the public expenditure, accounts of any entities in which Government is a majority shareholder or hold a majority interest and of such other accounts laid before Parliament as the Committee may think fit.

The following are Members of this Joint Committee:

Leader of the Opposition (Chairman) ex officio, Mr. E. G. Hinkson, Ms. M. K-A. Caddle, Hon. C. E. Jordan, Mr. C. A. Lane, J.P., Mr. R. A. Thorne, Q.C. and Hon. K. D. Symmonds.

Appointed on 4th February, 2022.

STANDING ORDERS COMMITTEE

The Members of the Committee are:

His Honour the Speaker (Chairman) ex officio, Dr. the Hon. S. E. Browne, Hon. Miss K. S. McConney, Ms. M. K-A. Caddle, Hon. D. G. Sutherland, Hon. D. I. Ishmael and Hon. I. A. Weir.

Appointed on 4th February, 2022.

Hon. W. A. Abrahams, Hon. Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw and Mr. P. R. Phillips, J.P.

Appointed on 25th April, 2023.

LIBRARY COMMITTEE

The following are Members of this Joint Committee:

His Honour the Speaker (Chairman), Hon. A. R. Forde, Hon. R. R. Straughn, Ms. M. K-A. Caddle, Mr. T. A. Prescod, J.P., Hon. C. McD. Griffith and Dr. the Hon. W. F. Duguid.

Appointed on 4th February, 2022.

JOINT SELECT COMMITTEES (STANDING)

COMMITTEE ON GOVERNANCE AND POLICY MATTERS

The following are Members of this Joint Committee:

Mr. R. A. Thorne, Q.C., Dr. R. O. Springer, J.P., Mr. E. G. Hinkson and Mr. P. R. Phillips, J.P.

Appointed on 2nd May, 2023.

COMMITTEE ON ECONOMIC AND PRODUCTIVE SECTORS

The following are Members of this Joint Committee:

Mr. C. D. L. Gibbs, Dr. the Hon. S. E. Browne, Hon. Mrs. C. S. V. Husbands and Ms. M. K-A. Caddle.

Appointed on 2nd May, 2023.

COMMITTEE ON SOCIAL SECTOR AND ENVIRONMENT

The following are Members of this Joint Committee:

Ms. T. N. S-A. Moore, J.P., Hon. C. A. Lane, J.P., Miss C. Y. Forde, J.P. and Mr. T. A. Prescod, J.P.

Appointed on 2nd May, 2023.

ORDER OF BUSINESS

(Standing Order 10 of the First Session)

"Unless the House otherwise directs, the business of each sitting day shall be transacted in the following order –

- (a) Formal entry of His Honour the Speaker.
- (b) Prayers.
- (c) Announcements by His Honour the Speaker.
- (d) Messages from Her Excellency the President.
- (e) Petitions.
- (f) Papers.
- (g) Government Notices.
- (h) Private Members' Notices.
- (i) Notices of Questions.
- (j) Reports from Select Committees.
- (k) First readings of Bills.
- (l) Statements by Ministers.
- (m) Congratulatory and/or obituary speeches.
- (n) Personal Explanations.
- (o) Motions for leave of absence.
- (p) Oral replies to questions.
- (q) Notices of motions for the adjournment of the House on matters of urgent public importance.
- (r) Orders of the day."

GOVERNMENT BUSINESS

1. Hon. K. D. Symmonds: To resume debate on the Second Reading of the Barbados Metrology Bill, 2022.

Notice of this Bill was given on 8th February, 2022.

The Bill was read a first time on 8th February, 2022.

The Bill was published in the Official Gazette on 10th February, 2022.

On the 4th day of October, 2022 Hon. K. D. Symmonds began to speak. Further consideration of the Bill was postponed.

2. Hon. Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw: To move the Second Reading of the Barbados Water Authority (Amendment) Bill, 2022.

Notice of this Bill was given on 19th April, 2022.

The Bill was read a first time on 19th April, 2022.

The Bill was published in the Official Gazette on 25th April, 2022.

3. Hon. R. R. Straughn: To move the Second Reading of the Duties, Taxes and other Payments (Exemption) Bill, 2023.

Notice of this Bill was given on 16th January, 2023.

The Bill was read a first time on 17th January, 2023.

The Bill was published in the Official Gazette on 23rd January, 2023.

4. Hon. D. D. Marshall: To move the Second Reading of the Integrity in Public Life Bill, 2023.

Notice of this Bill was given on 27th January, 2023.

The Bill was read a first time on 7th February, 2023.

The Bill was published in the Official Gazette on 13th February, 2023.

5. Hon. D. G. Sutherland: To move the passing of a Resolution to approve in accordance with section 5 of the *Land Acquisition Act*, Cap. 228 the compulsory acquisition by the State of parcels of land situate at Work Hall in the parish of Saint Philip in this Island for the public purpose of regularizing a squatters' housing area.

Notice of this Resolution was given on 1st February, 2023.

6. **Hon. C. McD. Griffith:** To move the passing of a Resolution that the Parliament of Barbados take note of the Green Paper on the National Sports Policy.

Notice of this Resolution was given on 2nd February, 2023.

7. Hon. K. D. M. Humphrey: To move the Second Reading of the Child Protection Bill, 2023.

Notice of this Bill was given on 7th February, 2023.

The Bill was read a first time on 7th February, 2023.

The Bill was published in the Official Gazette on 13th February, 2023.

8. Hon. W. A. Abrahams: To move the Second Reading of the Child Justice Bill, 2023.

Notice of this Bill was given on 30th March, 2023.

The Bill was read a first time on 31st March, 2023.

9. Hon. Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw: To move the Second Reading of the Water Reuse Bill, 2023.

Notice of this Bill was given on 30th March, 2023.

The Bill was read a first time on 31st March, 2023.

The Bill was published in the Official Gazette on 13th April, 2023.

10. Hon. I. A. Weir: To move the Second Reading of the Three Houses Spring (Management and Control) Bill, 2023.

Notice of this Bill was given on 24th April, 2023.

The Bill was read a first time on 24th April, 2023.

The Bill was published in the Official Gazette on 27th April, 2023.

11. Hon. I. A. Weir: To move the Second Reading of the Barbados Agricultural Development and Marketing Corporation (Amendment) Bill, 2023.

Notice of this Bill was given on 24th April, 2023.

The Bill was read a first time on 24th April, 2023.

The Bill was published in the Official Gazette on 27th April, 2023.

QUESTIONS

PRIVATE MEMBERS' BUSINESS

1. **Mr. E. G. Hinkson:** To move the passing of a Resolution that this House endorses the programme as announciated in the Address of Her Excellency the President and its pledge to support the Government in its effective implementation of its said programme.

Notice of this Resolution was given on 21st February, 2022.

HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY

FIRST SESSION OF 2022 – 2027

ORDER PAPER

FORTY-THIRD SITTING

Tuesday, 16th May, 2023

Government Printing Department Barbados.