

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF

The Honourable the House of Assembly

At a meeting of the House of Assembly at the Parliament Buildings on Friday the 11th day of August, 2023, at 10.00 o'clock a.m. pursuant to the adjournment.

PRESENT

His Honour A. E. Holder, B.Sc. (Hons.), MSW, LL.B. (Hons.), L.E.C. (Speaker) His Honour N. G. H. Rowe, J.P. (Deputy Speaker) (on-line)

Miss C. Y. Forde, J.P., L.C.P.

Hon. D. D. Marshall, S.C., LL.B. (Hons.), L.E.C. (Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs)

Mr. T. A. Prescod, J.P., B.A.

Hon. K. D. Symmonds, B.A., LL.B. (Senior Minister) (Minister of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade)

Mr. E. G. Hinkson, LL.B. (Hons.), L.E.C., LL.M.

Hon. D. G. Sutherland, B.Sc., M.Sc., M.B.A. (Dist.) (Minister of Housing, Lands and Maintenance)

Hon. Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw, LL.B. (Hons.), L.E.C. (Deputy Prime Minister) (Senior Minister) (Minister of Transport, Works and Water Resources)

Dr. the Hon. W. F. Duguid, J.P., B.D.S., F.D.S., F.D.R.C.S., M. Min. (Senior Minister in the Prime Minister's Office)

Hon. W. A. Abrahams, LL.B. (Minister of Home Affairs and Information)

Hon. I. A. Weir, M.B.A. (Minister of Agriculture, Food and Nutritional Security)

Hon. A. R. Forde, RPh. (Minister of Environment and National Beautification)

Hon. C. McD. Griffith, B.Sc. (Minister of Youth, Sports and Community Empowerment)

Hon. G. P. I. Gooding-Edghill (Minister of Tourism and International Transport)

Hon. C. E. Jordan, B.Sc. (Hons.) (Minister of Labour, Social Security and the Third Sector)

Hon. K. D. M. Humphrey, B.Sc., M.Sc., M.P.A. (Minister of People Empowerment and Elder Affairs)

Hon. Miss K. S. McConney (Minister of Education, Technological and Vocational Training)

Hon. C. A. Lane, J.P. (Minister of State in the Office of the Attorney General)

Mr. C. D. L. Gibbs

ABSENT

Hon. Miss M. A. Mottley, S.C., LL.B. (Prime Minister, Minister of Finance, Economic Affairs, Culture, Security, Public Service, CARICOM and the Development Commissions), Hon. Ms. C. S. V. Husbands, B.A. (Hons.), M.Sc. (Minister of State in the Ministry of Foreign Trade and Business Development), Mr. R. A. Thorne, Q.C., LL.B., L.E.C., Dip. Theology, Mr. P. R. Phillips, J.P. (Chairman

of Committees), Dr. the Hon. S. E. Browne, M.B.B.S. (Minister of State in the Ministry of Health and Wellness), Hon. R. R. Straughn, B.Sc., M.Sc. (Minister in the Ministry of Finance and Economic Affairs), Ms. M. K-A. Caddle, B.A., M.Sc., Ms. T. N. S-A. Moore, J.P., M.B.A., Dr. R. O. Springer, J.P., Ph.D. (Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Transport, Works and Water Resources) and Hon. D. I. Ishmael, M.B.A., M.Sc. (Minister of Industry, Innovation, Science and Technology).

Prayers were taken by Rev. Gillian Crawford.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY HIS HONOUR THE SPEAKER

Mr. Speaker recognised the presence of and welcomed family members of the late Dr. Denis Stephenson Lowe, Dip.Th., B.A., M.Ed., Ed.D. former Member of Parliament.

MINUTES

The Minutes of the meeting of Friday, 28th July 2023 were deferred on the motion of Hon. Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw seconded by Miss C. Y. Forde.

OBITUARY SPEECHES

Hon. Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw spoke.

Hon. W. A. Abrahams spoke.

Hon. K. D. Symmonds spoke.

Hon. A. R. Forde spoke.

Hon. K D. M. Humphrey spoke.

Miss C. Y. Forde spoke.

Hon. D. G. Sutherland spoke.

Mr. T. A. Prescod spoke.

Mr. Speaker spoke.

The House observed a minute of silence in honour of passing merit and the passing of the Resolution of Condolence to the family of the deceased.

FIRST READINGS OF BILLS

On the motion of Hon. Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw, seconded by Hon. W. A. Abrahams the following Bills were read a first time:

- The Copyright Bill, 2023; and
- The National Payment System (Amendment) Bill, 2023.

ADJOURNMENT

On the motion of Hon. Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw, seconded by Hon. W. A. Abrahams the House was adjourned to Tuesday, 12th September, 2023 at 10.00 a.m.

At 2.03 p.m. Mr. Speaker adjourned the Sitting.

N. R. JONES, Q.C. Deputy Clerk of Parliament.

The Minutes were certified correct and confirmed the , 2023.

day of

Speaker.

HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS BRIDGETOWN.



HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY

FIRST SESSION OF 2022 - 2027

MINUTES

Friday, 11th August, 2023.

Government Printing Department.