

# MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

**OF** 

# The Honourable the House of Assembly

At a meeting of the House of Assembly at the Parliament Buildings on Friday, the 5th day of May, 2017, pursuant to the adjournment.

#### **PRESENT**

His Honour M. A. Carrington, Q.C., B.A., LL.B. (*Speaker*) Her Honour Mrs. M-J. M. Thompson, B.A., M.Sc (Ph.Ed.) (*Deputy Speaker*)

Mr. G. A. Clarke, J.P., B.Sc., Dip. Ed.

Mr. R. St. C. Toppin, LL.B. (Hons.)

Hon. D. St. E. Kellman (Minister of Housing, Lands and Rural Development)

Miss C. Y. Forde, J.P., L.C.P.

Hon. R. D. Jones, J.P., B.A. (Hons.), M.A. Ed. (Minister of Education, Science, Technology and Innovation)

Mr. D. D. Marshall, Q.C., LL.B. (Hons.), L.E.C.

Hon. M. A. Lashley, LL.B. (Hons.) (Minister of Transport and Works)

Hon. R. L. Sealy, B.Sc., M.B.A. (Minister of Tourism and International Transport)

Rt. Hon. F. J. Stuart, Q.C., B.A., LL.M. (Prime Minister, Minister of National Security, The Public Service and Urban Development)

Hon. J. D. E. Boyce, M.Sc., C. Eng. (Minister of Health) (Leader of the House)

Hon. S. D. Blackett (Minister of Social Care, Constituency Empowerment and Community Development)

Mr. J. D. Paul, B.Sc. (Chairman of Committees)

Hon. A. D. Brathwaite, Q.C., LL.B. (Hons.)(Attorney General and Minister of Home Affairs)

Hon. S. A. Lashley, B.Sc., LL.B. (Hons.), L.E.C. (Minister of Culture, Sports and Youth)

Hon. D. O'N. Inniss, B.Sc., M.B.A. (Minister of Industry, International Business, Commerce and Small Business Development)

Hon. C. P. Sinckler, B.A., M.Sc. (Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs)

Mr. T. A. Prescod, B.A.

Mr. K. D. Symmonds, B.A., LL.B.

Lt. Col. J. D. Bostic, MVO, B.A. (Hons.)

Mr. E. G. Hinkson, LL.B. (Hons.), L.E.C., LL.M.

Mr. D. G. Sutherland, B.Sc., M.Sc., M.B.A. (Dist.) and

Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw, LL.B. (Hons.)

# **ABSENT**

Rt. Hon. O. S. Arthur, M.Sc. (Econ.), Mr. G. W. Payne, Q.C., Hon. Miss M. A. Mottley, Q.C., LL.B. (Leader of the Opposition), Dr. the Hon. D. C. Estwick, B.Sc., M.B., B.S. (Minister of Agriculture, Food, Fisheries and Water Resource Management), Dr. the Hon. D. S. Lowe, Dip. Theology, B.A., M.Ed., Ed.D. (Minister of Environment and Drainage) and Dr. M. M. Agard, J.P., B.Sc., M.Sc., D.D.S. (on leave).

Mr. Speaker took the Chair at 10.15 a.m.

Prayers were taken by Rev. Father Mark Harewood.

#### **MINUTES**

The Minutes of the meeting of Tuesday, 25th April, 2017 were taken as read and were confirmed on the motion of Hon. J. D. E. Boyce seconded by Hon. A. D. Brathwaite.

#### **PAPERS**

By command Hon. A. D. Brathwaite laid the Royal Barbados Police Force Annual Report, 2013.

## ORDERS OF THE DAY

# SUSPENSION OF STANDING ORDERS

On the motion of Hon. J. D. E. Boyce seconded by Hon. A. D. Brathwaite Standing Orders 6, 16, 18, 20, 42(5), 43 and 44 were suspended for the remainder of the day's Sitting.

# GOVERNMENT BUSINESS ORDER NO. 15

## NATIONAL PETROLEUM CORPORATION (AMENDMENT) BILL, 2017

On the Order being called for the Rt. Hon. F. J. Stuart to move the second reading of the Bill entitled an Act to amend the National Petroleum Corporation Act in order to make better provision for the rates which are charged for a supply of natural gas and for related matters,

the Hon. Member spoke and moved seconded by Hon. A. D. Brathwaite that the Bill be read a second time.

Hon. D. G. Sutherland began to speak.

Hon. J. D. E. Boyce spoke on a point of order.

Mr. Speaker spoke.

Mr. D. G. Sutherland resumed his speech.

Mr. Speaker spoke.

Mr. D. G. Sutherland resumed his speech.

Mr. Speaker spoke.

Mr. D. G. Sutherland resumed his speech.

Mr. Speaker spoke.

Mr. D. G. Sutherland resumed his speech.

Hon. J. D. E. Boyce spoke on a point of order.

Mr. Speaker ruled no point of order.

Mr. D. G. Sutherland concluded his speech.

#### **SUSPENSION**

On the motion of Hon. J. D. E. Boyce seconded by Hon. A. D. Brathwaite the Sitting was suspended until 2.00 p.m.

At 12.20 p.m. Mr. Speaker suspended the Sitting.

# RESUMPTION

On resumption Mr. Speaker resumed the Chair.

#### **ORDER NO. 15 (resumed)**

Hon. D. St. E. Kellman spoke.

Mr. K. D. Symmonds began to speak.

Rt. Hon. F. J. Stuart spoke on a point of order.

Mr. K. D. Symmonds resumed his speech.

Mr. Speaker spoke.

Mr. K. D. Symmonds concluded his speech.

Hon. S. A. Lashley began to speak.

Mr. E. G. Hinkson spoke on a point of order.

Hon. S. A. Lashley concluded his speech.

Mr. E. G. Hinkson began to speak.

Mr. Speaker spoke and the Member withdrew certain remarks.

Mr. E. G. Hinkson resumed his speech.

Hon. D. St. E. Kellman spoke on a point of order.

Mr. Speaker ruled no point of order.

Mr. E. G. Hinkson concluded his speech.

Hon. R. L. Sealy spoke.

Madam Deputy Speaker assumed the Chair.

Hon. C. P. Sinckler spoke.

The Speaker resumed the Chair.

Mr. G. A. Clarke began to speak.

Rt. Hon. F. J. Stuart spoke on a point of order.

Mr. Speaker spoke.

Mr. G. A. Clarke resumed his speech.

Hon. D. St. E. Kellman spoke on a point of elucidation.

Mr. Speaker spoke.

Mr. G. A. Clarke resumed his speech.

Hon. A. D. Brathwaite spoke on a point of order.

Mr. G. A. Clarke resumed his speech.

Rt. Hon. F. J. Stuart spoke on a point of order.

Mr. Speaker spoke.

Mr. G. A. Clarke resumed his speech.

Hon. D. St. E. Kellman spoke on a point of order.

Mr. G. A. Clarke concluded his speech.

Hon. A. D. Brathwaite began to speak.

Mr. G. A. Clarke spoke on a point of order.

Mr. Speaker spoke.

Hon. A. D. Brathwaite resumed his speech.

Mr. G. A. Clarke spoke on a point of order.

Hon. A. D. Brathwaite concluded his speech.

Miss C. Y. Forde began to speak.

Hon. J. D. E. Boyce spoke on a point of order.

Miss C. Y. Forde concluded her speech.

Hon. R. D. Jones spoke.

Rt. Hon. F. J. Stuart began to speak.

Mr. G. A. Clarke spoke on a point of order.

Mr. Speaker spoke.

Rt. Hon. F. J. Stuart concluded his speech.

The Bill was read a second time.

On the motion of Rt. Hon. F. J. Stuart seconded by Hon. J. D. E. Boyce the House went into Committee, Mr. J. D. Paul in the Chair.

Clauses 1 to 3 were called and passed on the separate motion of Rt. Hon. F. J. Stuart seconded by Hon. J. D. E. Boyce.

On the motion of Rt. Hon. F. J. Stuart seconded by Hon. J. D. E. Boyce the Chairman reported the passing of the Bill in Committee to Mr. Speaker who resumed the Chair and reported accordingly.

On the separate motion of Rt. Hon. F. J. Stuart seconded by Hon. J. D. E. Boyce the Bill was read a third time and passed and the title read and agreed to.

# **ADJOURNMENT**

On the motion of Hon. J. D. E. Boyce seconded by Hon. A. D. Brathwaite the House was adjourned to Friday, 12th May, 2017 at 10.00 a.m.

At 7.25 p.m. the Speaker adjourned the House.

# RICHARD P. BYER Deputy Clerk of Parliament.

The Minutes were certified correct and confirmed the , 2017.

day of

Speaker.

HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS BRIDGETOWN.

HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY FIRST SESSION OF 2013 - 2018	MINUTES Friday, 5th May, 2017.	
--	--------------------------------	--

Government Printing Department.