MESSAGE From THE HONOURABLE THE HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY To THE HONOURABLE THE SENATE

The Honourable the House of Assembly has the honour to inform the Honourable the Senate that on the 30th day of August, 2018, the Honourable the House of Assembly committed the following Bill:

Medicinal Cannabis Industry Bill, 2019

to a Joint Select Committee of the two Houses comprising eight members of the Honourable the House of Assembly and four members of the Honourable the Senate and has approved the following terms of reference for the committee:

Terms of Reference

- 1. To inquire into and determine whether the Bill as drafted fulfils the expressed objects of the promotion, regulation, and handling of i.e. cultivation, processing, importation, exportation, transit, transshipment, manufacture, sale, possession and distribution of Medicinal Cannabis in Barbados
- 2. To examine and analyze whether the provisions of the Bill which relate to the establishment of the Medicinal Cannabis Authority engender the development of policies, procedures and guidelines of the Medicinal Cannabis Industry ensuring the availability of Medicinal Cannabis to patients in a safe and effective manner.
- 3. To examine whether the Bill as drafted facilitates ongoing scientific research in Medicinal Cannabis with the resultant development of the Medicinal Cannabis Industry.
- 4. To consider whether the Bill as drafted offers an effective enforcement procedure to ensure compliance with the provisions of the Bill.
- 5. To make recommended changes, if deemed necessary, to the Bill as drafted for further consideration by the Chief Parliamentary Counsel.

The House of Assembly has appointed the following members to the Joint Select Committee:

Hon. Dale D. Marshall, Q.C., LL.B, (Hons.), L.E.C. Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs

Hon. Adrian R. Forde, Rph. Minister of Youth and Community Empowerment)

Hon. Indar Weir, M.B.A. Minister of Agriculture and Food Security

Hon Edmund G. Hinkson, LL.B (Hons.), L.E.C., LL.M. Minister of Home Affairs

Hon. Trevor Prescod, , B.A. Minister of Environment and National Beautification

Lt Col. the Hon. Jeffrey D. Bostic, MVO, B.A. (Hons.) Minister of Health and Wellness

Dr. Sonia E. Browne, M.B.B.S. Chairman of Committees

Bishop Joseph J. S. Atherley, JP., B.A., B.Sc., PgD. Leader of the Opposition

The House of Assembly has the honour to invite the Honourable the Senate to appoint four members to the Joint Select Committee.

Dated the 30th day of August, 2019.

SPEAKER