

ORDER PAPER

OF

THE HONOURABLE THE HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY

FIRST SESSION OF 2018-2023

SIXTIETH SITTING

at

10.30 a.m.

on

Friday, 20th December, 2019

The First Session of the Parliament of 2018-2023 commenced on Tuesday 5th June, 2018

MANAGEMENT COMMISSION OF PARLIAMENT

(Parliament (Administration) Act, Cap.10 - Section 3(4)

The following are ex officio Members of the Commission:

His Honour A. E. Holder (Chairman), Hon. Miss M. A. Mottley, Q.C., Hon. Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw and Bishop J. J. S. Atherley.

Section 3(4) of the Parliament of (Administration) Act, Cap.10.

The following are appointed Members of the Commission:

Hon. C. E. Jordan, Dr. S. E. Browne and Mr. G. P. I. Gooding-Edghill.

Appointed on 10th July, 2018

SESSIONAL SELECT COMMITTEES

COMMITTEE OF PRIVILEGES

To consider and report to the Honourable the House of Assembly on all matters which involve the privileges of the Honourable the House of Assembly.

The Members of the Committee are:

His Honour A. E. Holder (Chairman), Lt. Col. J. D. Bostic, Hon. K. D. M. Humphrey, Mr. N. G. H. Rowe, Hon. Miss C. Y Forde, His Honour G. A. Clarke and Bishop J. J. S. Atherley.

Appointed on 5th June, 2018.

COMMITTEE OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTS

To examine the accounts showing the appropriation of the sums granted by Parliament to meet the public expenditure, accounts of any entities in which Government is a majority shareholder or hold a majority interest and of such other accounts laid before Parliament as the Committee may think fit.

The Members of the Committee are:

Bishop J. J. S. Atherley (Chairman), Hon. A. R. Forde, Hon R. R. Straughn, Hon. J. A. King, Mr. G. P. I. Gooding- Edghill and Hon. Miss M. K-A. Caddle.

Appointed on 5th June, 2018.

STANDING ORDERS COMMITTEE

The Members of the Committee are:

His Honour the Speaker (Chairman), Hon.G. W. Payne, Q. C., Hon. R. St.C. Toppin, Hon. K. D. Symmonds, Hon. W. A. Abrahams and Bishop J. J. S. Atherley.

Appointed on 5th June, 2018.

Hon. Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw, Lt. Col the Hon. J. D. Bostic, His Honour G. A. Clarke and Mr. R. A. Thorne.

Appointed on 15th January, 2019.

LIBRARY COMMITTEE

The following are Members of this Joint Committee:

His Honour the Speaker (Chairman), Hon. A. R. Forde, Hon. R. R. Straughn, Hon. J. A. King, Mr. G. P. I. Gooding-Edghill and Hon. Miss M. K-A. Caddle

Appointed on 5th June, 2018.

JOINT SELECT COMMITTEE

on

Integrity in Public Life Bill, 2018

The Members of the Committee are:

Hon. D. D. Marshall, Q.C., Hon. W. A. Abrahams, Hon. C. E. Jordan, Hon. Miss C. Y. Forde, Hon. C. McD. Griffith, Mr. R. A. Thorne and Bishop J. J. S. Atherley.

Appointed on 17th July, 2018.

Terms of Reference are as follows:

To inquire into and determine whether the Bill as drafted effectively fulfills the expressed objects of promoting and maintaining the integrity of persons in public life and the prevention, detection and prosecution of acts of corruption;

To examine whether the Bill as drafted will upon effective implementation contribute to an ethos of fair dealings and compliance with the financial rules in government affairs, thereby combating corruption in public life;

To examine and analyse whether the provisions of the Bill which relate to financial disclosure will so deter citizens from offering themselves for public duty and service as to have a negative impact on the functioning of government;

To consider whether the Bill as drafted will be an effective and strong deterrent to corruption in public life in Barbados;

To make recommended changes, if deemed necessary, to the Bill as drafted for further consideration by the Chief Parliamentary Counsel.

ORDER OF BUSINESS

(Standing Order 10)

"Unless the House otherwise directs, the business of each sitting day shall be transacted in the following order -

- (a) Formal entry of His Honour the Speaker.
- (b) Prayers.
- (c) Announcements by His Honour the Speaker.
- (d) Messages from His Excellency the Governor-General.
- (e) Petitions.
- (f) Papers.
- (g) Government Notices.
- (h) Private Member's Business.
- (i) Notices of Questions.
- (j) Reports from Select Committees.
- (k) First readings of Bills.
- (1) Statements by Ministers.
- (m) Congratulatory and/or obituary speeches.
- (n) Personal Explanations.
- (o) Motions for leave of absence.
- (p) Oral replies to questions.
- (q) Notices of motions for the adjournment of the House on matters of urgent public importance.
- (r) Orders of the day."

GOVERNMENT BUSINESS

QUESTIONS

9 ORDER PAPER: FRIDAY, 20TH DECEMBER, 2019 No. 60

PRIVATE MEMBERS BUSINESS

HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY

FIRST SESSION OF 2018-2023

ORDER PAPER

SIXTIETH SITTING

Friday, 20th December, 2019

Government Printing Department Barbados.