

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF

The Honourable the House of Assembly

At a meeting of the House of Assembly at the Parliament Buildings on Thursday the 24th day of April, 2025, at 2.00 o'clock p.m. pursuant to the adjournment.

PRESENT

His Honour A. E. Holder, S.C., B.Sc. (Hons.), MSW, LL.B. (Hons.), L.E.C. (Speaker)

- Hon. Miss M. A. Mottley, S.C., LL.B. (Prime Minister, Minister of Finance, Economic Affairs, Culture, Security, Public Service, CARICOM and the Development Commissions)
- Mr. T. A. Prescod, J.P., B.A.
- Mr. E. G. Hinkson, S.C., LL.B. (Hons.), L.E.C., LL.M.
- Hon. D. G. Sutherland, B.Sc., M.Sc., M.B.A. (Dist.) (Minister of Housing, Lands and Maintenance)
- Hon. Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw, LL.B. (Hons.), L.E.C. (Deputy Prime Minister) (Senior Minister) (Minister of Transport and Works) (Leader of Government Business)
- Dr. the Hon. W. F. Duguid, J.P., B.D.S., F.D.S., F.D.R.C.S., M. Min. (Senior Minister) (Minister of Planning and Development in the Prime Minister's Office)
- Hon. W. A. Abrahams, S.C., LL.B. (*Minister of* Home Affairs and Information)
- Hon. Ms. C. S. V. Husbands, B.A. (Hons.), M.Sc. (Minister of Training and Tertiary Education)
- Hon. I. A. Weir, M.B.A. (Minister of Agriculture, Food and Nutritional Security)

- Hon. A. R. Forde, Rph. (Minister of Environment and National Beautification, Green and Blue Economy)
- Mr. P. R. Phillips, J.P. (Chairman of Committees)
- Hon. G. P. I. Gooding-Edghill (Minister of Tourism and International Transport)
- Hon. C. E. Jordan, B.Sc. (Hons.) (Minister of Labour, Social Security and Third Sector)
- Dr. S. E. Browne, M.B.B.S.
- Hon. K. D. M. Humphrey, B.Sc., M.Sc., M.P.A. (Minister of People Empowerment and Elder Affairs)
- Ms. M. K-A. Caddle, B.A., M.Sc.
- Mr. N. G. H. Rowe, J.P
- Ms. T. N. S-A. Moore, J.P., M.B.A.
- Hon. Miss K. S. McConney (Minister of Economic Affairs and Investment)
- Dr. R. O. Springer, J.P., Ph.D. (Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Transport and Works)
- Hon. D. I. Ishmael, M.B.A., M.Sc. (Minister of State in the Ministry of Health and Wellness)
- Mr. C. A. Lane, J.P.

ABSENT

Her Honour Miss C. Y. Forde, J.P., L.C.P. (Deputy Speaker), Hon. D. D. Marshall, S.C., LL.B. (Hons.), L.E.C. (Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs) (Senior Minister), Hon. K. D. Symmonds, B.A., LL.B. (Senior Minister) (Minister of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade), Mr. R. A. Thorne, K.C., LL.B., L.E.C., Dip. Theology (Leader of the Opposition), Hon. C. McD. Griffith, B.Sc. (Minister of Youth, Sports and Community Empowerment), Hon. R. R. Straughn, B.Sc., M.Sc. (Minister in the Ministry of Finance) and Mr. C. D. L. Gibbs.

PRAYERS

Prayers were taken by Rev. Father Mark Harewood.

MINUTES

The Minutes of the meeting held on Tuesday, 22nd April, 2025 were deferred on the motion of Hon. Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw seconded by Hon. W. A. Abrahams.

ORDERS OF THE DAY

On the motion of Hon. Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw, seconded by Hon. W. A. Abrahams, Standing Orders 6, 16, 18, 20, 42(5), 43 and 44 were suspended for the remainder of the Sitting.

GOVERNMENT BUSINESS

ORDER NO. 10

LETTER OF RESIGNATION OF THE HONOURABLE MEMBER FOR THE CONSTITUENCY OF ST. JAMES NORTH

Mr. Speaker spoke and declared that the Letter of Resignation was in accordance with Standing Order 73 and further directed that the seat of the Honourable Member be declared vacant accordingly. Hon. Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw read the following address:

ADDRESS

from

THE HONOURABLE THE HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY

to

HER EXCELLENCY THE PRESIDENT

The House has the honour to present our humble duty.

By reason of the resignation of Mr Edmund Gregory Hinkson, SC., MP., a vacancy has on the 25th day of April, 2025 at 10:00 a.m. arisen for a member of the House of Assembly for the constituency of Saint James-North.

Accordingly, the House has this day passed this Address to be forwarded to Your Excellency asking you to issue a writ for an election to fill the vacancy, pursuant to section 5(2) of the Representation of the People Act, Cap. 12.

Approved by the House of Assembly this 24th day of April, 2025.

Dated this 24th day of April, 2025.

SPEAKER

and moved, seconded by Mr. P. R. Phillips, that the address be presented to Her Excellency The President. The motion was passed.

ADJOURNMENT

Hon. Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw moved, seconded by Hon. W. A. Abrahams, who reserved his right to speak that the House be adjourned to Tuesday, 13th May, 2025 at 10.00 a.m.

Hon. Miss M. A. Mottley spoke in tribute to Mr. E. G. Hinkson, S.C., on his resignation.

Hon. W. A. Abrahams spoke.

Dr. the Hon. W. F. Duguid spoke.

Hon. I. A. Weir spoke.

Hon. D. I. Ishmael spoke.

Hon. K. D. M. Humphrey spoke.

Hon. C. E. Jordan spoke.

Mr. T. A. Prescod spoke.

Hon. D. G. Sutherland spoke.

Ms. M. K-A. Caddle spoke.

Hon. A. R. Forde spoke.

Dr. S. E. Browne spoke.

Hon. G. P. I. Gooding-Edghill spoke.

Hon. Ms. C. S. V. Husband spoke.

Hon. Miss K. S. McConney spoke.

Dr. R. O. Springer spoke.

Hon. Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw spoke.

Mr. E. G. Hinkson spoke.

Mr. Speaker spoke.

Hon. Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw spoke.

The motion was passed.

At 7.08 p.m. Mr. Speaker adjourned the Sitting.

N. R. JONES, Q.C. Deputy Clerk of Parliament.

The Minutes were certified correct and confirmed the , 2025.

day of

Speaker.

HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS BRIDGETOWN.

HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY

FIRST SESSION OF 2022 – 2027

MINUTES

Thursday, 24th April, 2025.

Government Printing Department.