

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF

The Honourable the House of Assembly

At a hybrid meeting of the House of Assembly at the Parliament Buildings on Tuesday the 9th day of August, 2022, at 10.00 o' clock a.m. pursuant to the adjournment.

PRESENT

His Honour A. E. Holder, B.Sc. (Hons.), MSW, LL.B. (Hons.), L.E.C. (Speaker)

His Honour N. G. H. Rowe, J.P. (Deputy Speaker)

- Hon. Miss M. A. Mottley, Q.C., LL.B. (Prime Minister, Minister of Finance, Economic Affairs, Culture, Security, Public Service, CARICOM and the Development Commissions)
- Miss C. Y. Forde, J.P., L.C.P. (Online)
- Hon. D. D. Marshall, Q.C., LL.B. (Hons.), L.E.C. (Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs)
- Mr. T. A. Prescod, J.P., B.A.
- Mr. E. G. Hinkson, LL.B. (Hons.), L.E.C., LL.M.
- Hon. D. G. Sutherland, B.Sc., M.Sc., M.B.A. (Dist.) (Minister of Housing, Lands and Maintenance)
- Dr. the Hon. W. F. Duguid, J.P., B.D.S., F.D.S., F.D.R.C.S., M. Min. (Senior Minister in the Prime Minister's Office)
- Hon. W. A. Abrahams, LL.B. (Minister of Home Affairs and Information)
- Hon. Ms. C. S. V. Husbands, B.A. (Hons.), M.Sc. (Minister of State in the Ministry of Foreign Trade and Business Development) (Online)
- Mr. R. A. Thorne, Q.C., LL.B., L.E.C., Dip. Theology

Hon. I. A. Weir, M.B.A. (*Minister of Agriculture,* Food and Nutritional Security)

- Mr. P. R. Phillips, J.P. (Chairman of Committees)
- Hon. G. P. I. Gooding-Edghill (Minister of Health and Wellness)
- Hon. C. E. Jordan, B.Sc. (Hons.) (Minister of Labour and Social Security and the Third Sector)
- Dr. the Hon. S. E. Browne, M.B.B.S. (*Minister of* State in the Ministry of Health and Wellness) (Online)
- Hon. R. R. Straughn, B.Sc., M.Sc. (Minister in the Ministry of Finance and Economic Affairs)
- Ms. M. K-A. Caddle, B.A., M.Sc.
- Ms. T. N. S-A. Moore, M.B.A.
- Hon. Miss K. S. McConney (Minister of Education, Technological and Vocational Training)
- Dr. R. O. Springer, J.P., Ph.D. (Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Transport, Works and Water Resources)

Hon. D. I. Ishmael, M.B.A., M.Sc. (Minister of Industry, Innovation, Science and Technology)

- Mr. C. D. L. Gibbs
- Mr. C. A. Lane, J.P. (Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of People Empowerment and Elder Affairs)

ABSENT

Hon. K. D. Symmonds, B.A., LL.B. (Senior Minister) (Minister of Energy and Business Development), Hon. Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw, LL.B. (Hons.), L.E.C. (Deputy Prime Minister) (Senior Minister) (Minister of Transport, Works and Water Resources), Hon. A. R. Forde, RPh. (Minister of Environment and National Beautification), Hon. C. McD. Griffith, B.Sc. (Minister of Youth, Sports and Community Empowerment) and Hon. K. D. M. Humphrey, B.Sc., M.Sc., M.P.A. (Minister of People Empowerment and Elder Affairs).

Prayers were taken by Rev. Dr. Monrelle Williams.

MINUTES

The Minutes of the meeting of Friday, 5th August, 2022 were deferred on the motion of Hon. D. D. Marshall seconded by Hon. D. I. Ishmael.

ORDERS OF THE DAY SUSPENSION OF STANDING ORDERS

On the motion of Hon. D. D. Marshall seconded by Hon. D. I. Ishmael, Standing Orders 6, 16, 18, 20, 42(5), 43 and 44 were suspended for the remainder of the Sitting.

GOVERNMENT BUSINESS

ORDER NO. 5

PROTECTION OF AGRICULTURAL PRODUCTS BILL, 2022

On the Order being called for Hon. I. A. Weir to move the second reading of the Bill entitled an Act to make provision for the protection of agricultural products and matters related thereto,

the Hon. Member spoke and moved, seconded by Dr. the Hon. W. F. Duguid that the Bill be read a second time.

Hon. D. I. Ishmael spoke.

Ms. M. K-A. Caddle spoke. Hon. W. A. Abrahams spoke.

SUSPENSION

On the motion of Hon. D. D. Marshall seconded by Hon. W. A. Abrahams the Sitting was suspended to 2.30 p.m.

At 12.57 p.m. Mr. Speaker suspended the Sitting.

RESUMPTION

On resumption Mr. Speaker resumed the Chair.

ORDER NO. 5 (resumed)

Hon. R. R. Straughn spoke.

Mr. C. A. Lane spoke. Mr. T. A. Prescod began to speak.

Mr. Speaker spoke.

Mr. T. A. Prescod concluded his speech.

Hon. D. G. Sutherland spoke.

Hon. Ms. C. S. V. Husbands spoke.

Hon. D. D. Marshall spoke.

Dr. R. O. Springer spoke.

Hon. I. A. Weir spoke in reply.

The Bill was read a second time.

On the motion of Hon. I. A. Weir seconded by Dr. the Hon. W. F. Duguid the House went into Committee, Mr. P. R. Phillips in the Chair.

Clauses 1 to 15 and the Schedule were called in parts and passed on the separate motion of Hon.

I. A. Weir seconded by Hon. C. E. Jordan.

On the motion of Hon. I. A. Weir seconded by Hon. C. E. Jordan the Chairman reported the passing of the Bill in Committee to Mr. Speaker who resumed the Chair and reported accordingly.

On the separate motion of Hon. I. A. Weir seconded by Hon. C. E. Jordan the Bill was read a third time and passed and the title read and agreed to.

PAPERS (recommitted)

Hon. C. E. Jordan by command laid:

• 17th Actuarial Review of the National Insurance Fund, Unemployment Fund and Severance Fund as of December 31, 2020.

GOVERNMENT NOTICES (recommitted)

How R. R. Straughn gave notice of:

• Barbados Optional Savings Bonds Plus (Offer to the Public) Bill, 2022.

Hon. D. D. Marshall gave notice of:

• Resolution to approve in accordance with Section 5 of the *Crown Lands (Vesting and Disposal) Act,* Cap. 225 the vesting in the National Housing Corporation of the parcel of land, the property of the State, situate at Brighton in the parish of Saint George in this Island for housing development.

FIRST READINGS OF BILLS (recommitted)

On the motion of Hon. R. R. Straughn seconded by Hon. D. D. Marshall the Barbados Optional Savings Bonds Plus (Offer to the Public) Bill, 2022 was read a first time.

ADJOURNMENT

On the motion of Hon. D. D. Marshall seconded by Dr. the Hon. W. F. Duguid the House was adjourned to Friday, 12th August, 2022 at 10.00 a.m.

At 6.18 p.m. Mr. Speaker adjourned the Sitting.

N. R. JONES, Q.C. Deputy Clerk of Parliament.

The Minutes were certified correct and confirmed the , 2022.

day of

Speaker.

HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS BRIDGETOWN.

HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY

FIRST SESSION OF 2022 – 2027

MINUTES

Tuesday, 9th August, 2022.

Government Printing Department.