

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF

The Honourable The Senate

Pursuant to the Proclamation of Her Excellency the Governor-General of 7th day of September, 2020 the Senate met in the Senate Chamber, Parliament at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre on Tuesday the 15th day of September, 2020, at 10.00 o'clock a.m.

PRESENT

His Honour Senator R. R. Farley, B.Sc., CPA, CMA, J.P. (*President*) His Honour Senator R. N. Greenidge, LL.B. (*Deputy President*)

Senator the Hon. Mr. J. X. Walcott, M.B., B.S., F.R.C.S. (Edin.), J.P. (Minister of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade) (Leader of the Senate)

Senator the Hon. Miss K. S. McConney (Minister of Innovation, Science and Smart Technology)

Senator the Hon. Miss L. R. Cummins, B.Sc., M.Sc. (Minister of Tourism and International Transport)

Senator Dr. R. O. Springer, Ph.D. (Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education, Technological and Vocational Training)

Senator R. W. Grant, J.P., B.A. (Econ.), LL.B., PG Dip. MA.

Senator Dr. L. P. Holder, M.B.A., M.Sc., M.Th., D.Th.

Senator Dr. C. K. M. Haynes, M.B.B.S.

Senator D. R. Sands, LL.B. (Hons.)

Senator R. J. H. Adams, B.Sc. (Econ.), M.Sc. (Political Sociology)

Senator C. A. Franklyn, J.P.

Senator Miss C. N. Drakes, B.Sc. (Econ. & Mgmt), M.Phil Econ.

Senator the Hon. L. E. Nurse, F.C.A., F.C.C.A.

Senator Mr. C. A. Maynard, M.B.B.S., F.R.C.S. (ENT)

Senator Ms. M. C. Taitt, Q.C., LL.B. (Hons.), M.B.A. Senator Rev. Dr. J. A. Rogers, B.Sc., B.A. (Hons.), M.Phil., Ph.D.

Senator Miss T. N. S-A. Moore, M.B.A.

Senator K. J. Boyce, LL.B. (Hons.), L.E.C.

Senator Miss A. M. Wiggins, J.P., B.Sc.

ABSENT

Senator Miss L. C. Moe.

The Senate was called to order by His Honour the Deputy President.

PROCLAMATION OF COMMENCEMENT OF SESSION

The Deputy Clerk read the following Proclamation:



By Her Excellency Dame Sandra Prunella Mason, Dame Grand Cross of the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George, Dame of St. Andrew, Queen's Counsel, Governor-General of Barbados.

S. MASON Governor-General

A PROCLAMATION

WHEREAS it is provided by section 60(1) of the *Constitution* that each session of Parliament shall be held at such place and commence at such time as the Governor-General may appoint:

AND WHEREAS it is expedient that a session of Parliament shall be held at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre, Two Mile Hill, Saint Michael, commencing on the 15th day of September, 2020:

NOW THEREFORE by virtue and in exercise of the power and authority in me vested, I, Dame Sandra Prunella Mason, Dame Grand Cross of the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George, Dame of St. Andrew, Queen's Counsel, Governor-General of Barbados, **DO HEREBY APPOINT** the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre, Two Mile Hill, Saint Michael as the place at which a session of Parliament shall be held and 10:00 in the morning on Tuesday, 15th day of September, 2020, as the time at which the said session shall commence.

Given under my hand and the Public Seal of Barbados, this 7th day of September, 2020, and in the sixty-ninth year of Her Majesty's Reign.

MESSAGE FROM HER EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR GENERAL

The Deputy President read the following Message from Her Excellency the Governor-General:



Ref. No. GG: 8 Vol. VII

14th September, 2020

Dear Deputy President,

I have the honour to inform you The Honourable The Senate that:

(a) In accordance with the advice of the Prime Minister under section 39(1)(f) of the Constitution, the seat held by Dr. Sir Richard Lionel Cheltenham, KA, QC, JP was declared vacant with effect from 1st September, 2020;

(b) In accordance with the advice of the Prime Minister, Mr. Reginald Ricardo Farley has been appointed under section 36(2) of the Constitution as Senator with effect from 11th September, 2020.

I have the honour to be, Yours faithfully,

GOVERNOR-GENERAL

His Honour
The Deputy President of The Senate
Parliament Buildings
C/o Worthing Corporate Centre

Senator R. R. Farley who was outside was invited to enter the Chamber. Senator the Hon. Mr. J. X. Walcott welcomed Senator R. R. Farley. His Honour the Deputy President spoke. Senator R. R. Farley spoke.

ELECTION OF PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE

Senator the Hon. Mr. J. X. Walcott moved, seconded by Senator C. A. Franklyn, the appointment of Senator R. R. Farley as President of the Honourable the Senate.

The motion was unanimously passed.

Senator R. R. Farley assumed the Chair and spoke.

SUSPENSION

On the motion of Senator the Hon. Mr. J. X. Walcott the Senate was suspended to resume at pleasure for the purpose of receiving the Address of Her Excellency the Governor-General.

SITTING OF PARLIAMENT

ENTRY OF HER EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL

The Sergeant-at-Arms announced the arrival of Her Excellency the Governor-General Dame Sandra Prunella Mason, G.C.M.G., D.A., Q.C. Her Excellency preceded by His Honour the President and followed by Her Excellency's entourage entered the Senate Chamber and took their places.

PRAYERS

Prayers were led by Rev. Father Wayne Kirton.

SUMMONING OF THE HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY

Her Excellency the Governor-General directed the Sergeant-at-Arms to summon the Members of the House of Assembly.

The Members of the House of Assembly led by His Honour A. E. Arthur, Speaker of the House of Assembly entered the Senate Chamber in procession and took their places.

SPEECH FROM THE THRONE

Her Excellency the Governor-General addressed the gathered Assembly, then handed copies of the speech to His Honour the President and His Honour the Speaker.

The Members of the House of Assembly withdrew from the Senate Chamber.

Her Excellency the Governor-General and party accompanied by His Honour the President withdrew from the Chamber.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

On resumption the President of the Senate resumed the Chair.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

REPORT OF THE THRONE SPEECH

His Honour the President reported that Her Excellency the Governor-General had presented him with a copy of the Speech from the Throne.

ADOPTION OF STANDING ORDERS

On the motion of Senator the Hon. Mr. J. X. Walcott, the Standing Orders of the Honourable the Senate were adopted as the Standing Orders for the Session.

APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO THE MANAGEMENT COMMISSION OF PARLIAMENT

Senator C. A. Franklyn spoke.

Senator the Hon. Mr. J. X. Walcott spoke.

The Deputy Clerk spoke.

Further consideration was postponed.

COMMITTEE OF SELECTION

On the motion of Senator the Hon. Mr. J. X. Walcott Senators the Honourable Miss L. R. Cummins, D. R. Sands, Mr. C. A. Maynard and C. A. Franklyn were appointed as Members of the Committee of Selection.

SUSPENSION

On the motion of Senator the Hon. Mr. J. X. Walcott the Sitting was suspended for 10 minutes.

RESUMPTION

On resumption Mr. President resumed the Chair.

APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO THE MANAGEMENT COMMISSION OF PARLIAMENT (resumed)

On the motion of Senator the Hon. Mr. J. X. Walcott seconded by Senator the Hon. Miss L. R. Cummins, Senators C. A. Franklyn and Ms. M. C. Taitt were appointed to the Management Commission of Parliament.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY HIS HONOUR THE PRESIDENT (recommitted)

Mr. President announced that he was in receipt of an excuse for absence from Senator Miss L. C. Moe.

ADJOURNMENT

On the motion of Senator the Hon. Mr. J. X. Walcott the Senate was adjourned *sine die*. At 1.20 p.m. Mr. President adjourned the Sitting.

N. R. JONES, Q.C. Deputy Clerk of Parliament.

The Minutes were certified correct and confirmed the , 2020.

day of

President.

SENATE CHAMBERS LLOYD ERSKINE SANDIFORD CENTRE TWO MILE HILL ST. MICHAEL.

SENATE

SECOND SESSION OF 2018 - 2023

MINUTES

Tuesday, 15th September, 2020.

Government Printing Department