

OF

THE HONOURABLE THE HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY

FIRST SESSION OF 2022-2027

TWENTY-FIFTH SITTING

at

10.00 o'clock a.m.

on

Tuesday, 11th October, 2022

The First Meeting of the First Session of the Parliament of 2022-2027 was held on 4th February, 2022

MANAGEMENT COMMISSION OF PARLIAMENT

(Parliament (Administration) Act, Cap. 10 – Section 3(4))

The following are ex officio Members of the Commission:

His Honour A. E. Holder (Chairman), Hon. Miss M. A. Mottley, Q.C. and Hon. Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw.

Section 3(4) of the Parliament (Administration) Act, Cap. 10.

The following are appointed Members of the Commission:

Hon. D. D. Marshall, Q.C., Hon. C. E. Jordan, Mr. P. R. Phillips, J.P. and Ms. T. N. S-A. Moore.

Appointed on 4th February, 2022.

SESSIONAL SELECT COMMITTEES

COMMITTEE OF PRIVILEGES

To consider and report to the Honourable the House of Assembly on all matters which involve the privileges of the Honourable the House of Assembly.

The Members of the Committee are:

His Honour A. E. Holder (Chairman) ex officio, Dr. R. O. Springer, J.P., Hon. K. D. M. Humphrey, His Honour N. G. H. Rowe, J.P., Miss C. Y. Forde, J.P. and Hon. W. A. Abrahams.

Appointed on 4th February, 2022.

COMMITTEE OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTS

To examine the accounts showing the appropriation of the sums granted by Parliament to meet the public expenditure, accounts of any entities in which Government is a majority shareholder or hold a majority interest and of such other accounts laid before Parliament as the Committee may think fit.

The following are Members of this Joint Committee:

Leader of the Opposition (Chairman) ex officio, Mr. E. G. Hinkson, Ms. M. K-A. Caddle, Hon. C. E. Jordan, Mr. C. A. Lane, J.P., Mr. R. A. Thorne, Q.C. and Hon. K. D. Symmonds.

Appointed on 4th February, 2022.

STANDING ORDERS COMMITTEE

The Members of the Committee are:

His Honour the Speaker (Chairman) ex officio, Dr. the Hon. S. E. Browne, Hon. Miss K. S. McConney, Ms. M. K-A. Caddle, Hon. D. G. Sutherland, Hon. D. I. Ishmael and Hon. I. A. Weir.

Appointed on 4th February, 2022.

LIBRARY COMMITTEE

The following are Members of this Joint Committee:

His Honour the Speaker (Chairman), Hon. A. R. Forde, Hon. R. R. Straughn, Ms. M. K-A. Caddle, Mr. T. A. Prescod, Hon. C. McD. Griffith and Dr. the Hon. W. F. Duguid.

Appointed on 4th February, 2022.

ORDER OF BUSINESS

(Standing Order 10 of the First Session)

"Unless the House otherwise directs, the business of each sitting day shall be transacted in the following order –

- (a) Formal entry of His Honour the Speaker.
- (b) Prayers.
- (c) Announcements by His Honour the Speaker.
- (d) Messages from Her Excellency the President.
- (e) Petitions.
- (f) Papers.
- (g) Government Notices.
- (h) Private Members' Notices.
- (i) Notices of Questions.
- (j) Reports from Select Committees.
- (k) First readings of Bills.
- (l) Statements by Ministers.
- (m) Congratulatory and/or obituary speeches.
- (n) Personal Explanations.
- (o) Motions for leave of absence.
- (p) Oral replies to questions.
- (q) Notices of motions for the adjournment of the House on matters of urgent public importance.
- (r) Orders of the day."

GOVERNMENT BUSINESS

1. **Hon. K. D. Symmonds:** To resume debate on the Second Reading of the Barbados Metrology Bill, 2022.

Notice of this Bill was given on 8th February, 2022.

The Bill was read a first time on 8th February, 2022.

The Bill was published in the Official Gazette on 10th February, 2022.

On the 4th day of October, 2022 Hon. K. D. Symmonds began to speak. Further consideration of the Bill was postponed.

2. Hon. Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw: To move the Second Reading of the Water Reuse Bill, 2022.

Notice of this Bill was given on 8th February, 2022.

The Bill was read a first time on 8th February, 2022.

The Bill was published in the Official Gazette on 10th February, 2022.

3. Hon. Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw: To move the Second Reading of the Barbados Water Authority (Amendment) Bill, 2022.

Notice of this Bill was given on 19th April, 2022.

The Bill was read a first time on 19th April, 2022.

The Bill was published in the Official Gazette on 25th April, 2022.

4. Hon. R. R. Straughn: To move the Second Reading of the Final Appropriation (2021–2022) Bill, 2022.

Notice of this Bill was given on 23rd June, 2022.

The Bill was read a first time on 28th June, 2022.

The Bill was published in the Official Gazette on 30th June, 2022.

5. Hon. R. R. Straughn: To move the passing of a Resolution that the Barbados Fiscal Framework 2023-2024 to 2025-2026 be debated in Parliament and that any recommendations made in respect of the Fiscal Framework 2023-2024 to 2025-2026 be considered by the Cabinet.

Notice of this Resolution was given on 12th August, 2022.

QUESTIONS

PRIVATE MEMBERS' BUSINESS

1. **Mr. E. G. Hinkson:** To move the passing of a Resolution that this House endorses the programme as announciated in the Address of Her Excellency the President and its pledge to support the Government in its effective implementation of its said programme.

Notice of this Resolution was given on 21st February, 2022.

HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY

FIRST SESSION OF 2022 – 2027

ORDER PAPER

TWENTY-FIFTH SITTING

Tuesday, 11th October, 2022

Government Printing Department Barbados.