

THE HONOURABLE THE HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY

OF

FIRST SESSION OF 2018-2023

TWENTY-SECOND SITTING

at

10.00 o'clock a.m.

on

Tuesday, 11th December, 2018

The First Session of the Parliament of 2018-2023 commenced on Tuesday, 5th June, 2018

MANAGEMENT COMMISSION OF PARLIAMENT

(Parliament (Administration) Act, Cap. 10 – Section 3(4))

The following are ex officio Members of the Commission:

His Honour A. E. Holder (Chairman), Hon. Miss M. A. Mottley, Q.C., Hon. Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw and Bishop J. J. S. Atherley.

Section 3(4) of the Parliament (Administration) Act, Cap. 10.

The following are appointed Members of the Commission:

Hon. C. E. Jordan, Dr. S. E. Browne and Mr. G. P. I. Gooding-Edghill.

Appointed on 5th June, 2018.

Hon. D. D. Marshall, Q.C.

Appointed on 10th July, 2018.

SESSIONAL SELECT COMMITTEES

COMMITTEE OF PRIVILEGES

To consider and report to the Honourable the House of Assembly on all matters which involve the privileges of the Honourable the House of Assembly.

The Members of the Committee are:

His Honour A. E. Holder (Chairman), Lt. Col. the Hon. J. D. Bostic, Hon. K. D. M. Humphrey, Mr. N. G. H. Rowe, Hon. Miss C. Y. Forde, His Honour G. A. Clarke and Bishop J. J. S. Atherley.

Appointed on 5th June, 2018.

COMMITTEE OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTS

To examine the accounts showing the appropriation of the sums granted by Parliament to meet the public expenditure, accounts of any entities in which Government is a majority shareholder or holds a majority interest and of such other accounts laid before Parliament as the Committee may think fit.

The Members of the Committee are:

Bishop J. J. S. Atherley (Chairman), Hon. Ms. C. S. V. Husbands, Hon. Miss M. K-A. Caddle, Hon. C. E. Jordan, Dr. S. E. Browne, Mr. G. P. I. Gooding-Edghill and Hon. K. D. Symmonds.

Appointed on 5th June, 2018.

STANDING ORDERS COMMITTEE

The Members of the Committee are:

His Honour the Speaker (Chairman), Hon. G. W. Payne, Q.C., Hon. R. St. C. Toppin, Hon. K. D. Symmonds, Hon. W. A. Abrahams and Bishop J. J. S. Atherley.

Appointed on 5th June, 2018.

LIBRARY COMMITTEE

The following are Members of this Joint Committee:

His Honour the Speaker (Chairman), Hon. A. R. Forde, Hon. R. R. Straughn, Hon. J. A. King, Mr. G. P. I. Gooding-Edghill and Hon. Miss M. K-A. Caddle.

Appointed on 5th June, 2018.

JOINT SELECT COMMITTEE on Integrity in Public Life Bill, 2018

The Members of the Committee are:

Hon. D. D. Marshall, Q.C., Hon. W. A. Abrahams, Hon. C. E. Jordan, Hon. Miss C. Y. Forde, Hon. C. McD. Griffith, Mr. R. A. Thorne and Bishop J. J. S. Atherley.

Appointed on 17th July, 2018.

ORDER OF BUSINESS

(Standing Order 10)

"Unless the House otherwise directs, the business of each sitting day shall be transacted in the following order –

- (a) Formal entry of His Honour the Speaker.
- (b) Prayers.
- (c) Announcements by His Honour the Speaker.
- (d) Messages from Her Excellency the Governor-General.
- (e) Petitions.
- (f) Papers.
- (g) Government Notices.
- (h) Private Members' Notices.
- (i) Notices of Questions.
- (j) Reports from Select Committees.
- (k) First readings of Bills.
- (1) Statements by Ministers.
- (m) Congratulatory and/or obituary speeches.
- (n) Personal Explanations.
- (o) Motions for leave of absence.
- (p) Oral replies to questions.
- (q) Notices of motions for the adjournment of the House on matters of urgent public importance.
- (r) Orders of the day."

GOVERNMENT BUSINESS

1. Hon. D. D. Marshall: To resume debate on Second Reading of the Integrity in Public Life Bill, 2018.

Notice of this Bill was given on 11th June, 2018.

The Bill was read a first time on 11th June, 2018.

The Bill was published in the Official Gazette on 18th June, 2018.

On 10th July, 2018, Hon. D. D. Marshall spoke and moved seconded by the Hon. Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw who reserved her right to speak that the Bill be read a second time.

Bishop J. J. S. Atherley spoke.

Hon. K. D. M. Humphrey spoke.

Hon. Miss M. K-A. Caddle spoke.

Dr. the Hon. W. F. Duguid spoke.

Dr. S. E. Browne spoke.

Hon. W. A. Abrahams spoke.

Hon. Ms. C. S. V. Husbands spoke.

Further consideration of the Bill was postponed.

On resumption on 17th July, 2018, Hon. Miss M. A. Mottley spoke.

Hon. R. R. Straughn spoke.

Mr. R. A. Thorne spoke.

Hon. C. E. Jordan spoke.

Hon. Miss C. Y. Forde spoke.

Hon. A. R. Forde spoke.

Lt. Col. the Hon. J. D. Bostic spoke.

Hon. E. G. Hinkson spoke.

Hon. I. A. Weir spoke.

Mr. G. P. I. Gooding-Edghill spoke.

Hon. T. A. Prescod spoke.

His Honour G. A. Clarke spoke.

Hon. Miss. S. J. O. Bradshaw spoke.

Further consideration of the Bill was postponed and committed to a Joint Select Committee of both Houses of Parliament on the motion of Hon. Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw seconded by Mr. G. P. I. Gooding-Edghill.

2. Hon. Miss M. A. Mottley: To move the Second Reading of the Final Appropriation (2017-2018) Bill, 2018.

Notice of this Bill was given on 14th September, 2018.

The Bill was read a first time on 18th September, 2018.

The Bill was published in the Official Gazette on 24th September, 2018.

QUESTIONS

PRIVATE MEMBERS' BUSINESS

1. **Mr. R. A. Thorne:** To resume the debate on a Resolution to take note of the Throne Speech of Her Excellency the Governor-General and the determination of the Government to implement the provisions referred to therein.

Notice of this Resolution was given on 5th June, 2018.

On 24th July, 2018, Mr. R. A. Thorne spoke and moved seconded by Dr. the Hon. W. F. Duguid who spoke that the Resolution be passed. Hon. Miss M. K-A. Caddle spoke.

Hon. P. R. Phillips spoke.

Hon. Miss C. Y. Forde spoke.

Bishop J. J. S. Atherley spoke.

Hon. C. McD. Griffith spoke.

Further consideration of the Resolution was postponed.

2. Mr. R. A. Thorne: To move the passing of a Resolution that the Honourable the House accepts and adopts the Report of the Public Accounts Committee 2013-2018.

Notice of this Resolution was given on 20th November, 2018.

On 4th December, 2018, Mr. R. A. Thorne spoke and moved seconded by

Hon. K. D. Symmonds that the Resolution be passed.

Hon. K. D. Symmonds spoke.

Bishop J. J. S. Atherley spoke.

Hon. E. G. Hinkson spoke.

Hon. W. A. Abrahams spoke.

Further consideration of the Resolution was postponed.

3. Mr. R. A. Thorne: To move the passing of a Resolution that the Honourable the House takes note of the Ministerial Statement delivered by the Minister of Finance and of the changes to Barbados Corporate Tax Regime and the intention of the Government to converge its Domestic Business Sector and the International Business Sector.

Notice of this Resolution was given on 20th November, 2018.

HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY

FIRST SESSION OF 2018 – 2023

ORDER PAPER

TWENTY-SECOND SITTING

Tuesday, 11th December, 2018

Government Printing Department Barbados.