

ORDER PAPER

OF

THE HONOURABLE THE HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY

SECOND SESSION OF 2018–2023

TENTH SITTING

at

10.00 o'clock a.m.

on

Tuesday, 12th January, 2021

The First Meeting of the First Session of the Parliament of 2018-2023 was held on 5th June, 2018

Parliament was prorogued by Proclamation on 8th August, 2020

The First Meeting of the Second Session of the Parliament of 2018-2023 was held on the 15th September, 2020.

MANAGEMENT COMMISSION OF PARLIAMENT

(Parliament (Administration) Act, Cap. 10 – Section 3(4))

The following are ex officio Members of the Commission:

His Honour A. E. Holder (Chairman), Hon. Miss M. A. Mottley, Q.C., Hon. Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw and Bishop J. J. S. Atherley.

Section 3(4) of the Parliament (Administration) Act, Cap. 10.

The following are appointed Members of the Commission:

Hon. C. E. Jordan, Dr. S. E. Browne and Hon. G. P. I. Gooding-Edghill.

Hon. D. D. Marshall, Q.C.

Appointed on 15th September, 2020.

SESSIONAL SELECT COMMITTEES

COMMITTEE OF PRIVILEGES

To consider and report to the Honourable the House of Assembly on all matters which involve the privileges of the Honourable the House of Assembly.

The Members of the Committee are:

His Honour A. E. Holder (Chairman) ex officio, Lt. Col. the Hon. J. D. Bostic, Hon. K. D. M. Humphrey, Mr. N. G. H. Rowe, Hon. Miss C. Y. Forde, and Bishop J. J. S. Atherley.

Appointed on 15th September, 2020.

COMMITTEE OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTS

To examine the accounts showing the appropriation of the sums granted by Parliament to meet the public expenditure, accounts of any entities in which Government is a majority shareholder or hold a majority interest and of such other accounts laid before Parliament as the Committee may think fit.

The Members of the Committee are:

Bishop J. J. S. Atherley (Chairman) ex officio, Hon. Ms. C. S. V. Husbands, Hon. Miss M. K-A. Caddle, Hon. C. E. Jordan, Dr. S. E. Browne, Hon. G. P. I. Gooding-Edghill and Hon. K. D. Symmonds.

Appointed on 15th September, 2020.

STANDING ORDERS COMMITTEE

The Members of the Committee are:

His Honour the Speaker (Chairman) ex officio, Mr. G. W. Payne, Q.C., Hon. R. St. C. Toppin, Hon. K. D. Symmonds, Hon. W. A. Abrahams, Bishop J. J. S. Atherley, Hon. Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw, Lt. Col. the Hon. J. D. Bostic and Mr. R. A. Thorne, Q.C.

Appointed on 15th September, 2020.

His Honour N. G. H. Rowe, J.P.

Appointed on 17th November, 2020.

LIBRARY COMMITTEE

The Members of the Committee are:

His Honour the Speaker (Chairman), Hon. A. R. Forde, Hon. R. R. Straughn, Hon. J. A. King, Hon. G. P. I. Gooding-Edghill and Hon. Miss M. K-A. Caddle.

Appointed on 15th September, 2020.

ORDER OF BUSINESS

(Standing Order 10 of the First Session)

"Unless the House otherwise directs, the business of each sitting day shall be transacted in the following order –

- (a) Formal entry of His Honour the Speaker.
- (b) Prayers.
- (c) Announcements by His Honour the Speaker.
- (d) Messages from Her Excellency the Governor-General.
- (e) Petitions.
- (f) Papers.
- (g) Government Notices.
- (h) Private Members' Notices.
- (i) Notices of Questions.
- (j) Reports from Select Committees.
- (k) First readings of Bills.
- (l) Statements by Ministers.
- (m) Congratulatory and/or obituary speeches.
- (n) Personal Explanations.
- (o) Motions for leave of absence.
- (p) Oral replies to questions.
- (q) Notices of motions for the adjournment of the House on matters of urgent public importance.
- (r) Orders of the day."

GOVERNMENT BUSINESS

1. Hon. D. D. Marshall: To move the Second Reading of the Drug Abuse (Prevention and Control) (Amendment) Bill, 2020.

Notice of this Bill was given on 1st December, 2020.

The Bill was read a first time on 1st December, 2020.

The Bill was published in the Official Gazette on 7th December, 2020.

2. Hon. D. D. Marshall: To move the Second Reading of the Anti-Corruption and Anti-Terrorism Agency Bill, 2020.

Notice of this Bill was given on 7th December, 2020.

The Bill was read a first time on 8th December, 2020.

The Bill was published in the Official Gazette on 14th December, 2020.

3. **Dr. the Hon. W. F. Duguid**: To move the passing of a Resolution to approve the publication in the *Official Gazette* of a notification under Section 9(1) of the *Land Acquisition Act*, Cap. 228 declaring the abandonment of the compulsory acquisition of the parcel of land situate at Harrismith in the parish of Saint Philip in this Island, more particularly described in the Schedule to this Resolution.

Notice of this Resolution was given on 8th December, 2020.

4. **Dr. the Hon. W. F. Duguid**: To move the passing of a Resolution to approve in accordance with Section 5 of the *Crown Lands (Vesting and Disposal) Act*, Cap. 225 the lease to the Duke of Edinburgh's International Award Barbados Charity of the parcel of land, the property of the Crown, Namely Lot 2, being part of the property known as Culloden Farm in the parish of Saint Michael in this Island to be used as a headquarters-base to house the Duke of Edinburgh's International Award Barbados Charity and to facilitate its development programmes.

Notice of this Resolution was given on 8th December, 2020.

QUESTIONS

N.B. Questions marked thus * are for Oral Reply.

PRIVATE MEMBERS' BUSINESS

1. **Mr. E. G. Hinkson:** To move the passing of a Resolution to take note of the Throne Speech of Her Excellency the Governor-General and the determination of the Government to implement the provisions referred to therein.

Notice of this Resolution was given on 15th September, 2020.

HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY

SECOND SESSION OF 2018 - 2023

ORDER PAPER

TENTH SITTING

Tuesday, 12th January, 2021

Government Printing Department Barbados.