

ORDER PAPER

OF

THE HONOURABLE THE SENATE

FIRST SESSION OF 2022 - 2027

THIRTY-NINTH SITTING

at

11.00 o'clock

on

Wednesday, 7th February, 2024

The First Meeting of the First Session of the Parliament of 2022–2027 was held on 4th February, 2022.

MANAGEMENT COMMISSION OF PARLIAMENT

(Parliament (Administration) Act, Cap. 10 – Section 3(4) and First Schedule)

His Honour the President, ex officio, Senators the Hon. Ms. L. R. Cummins, ex officio, Ms. M. C. Taitt, Q.C. and Dr. the Most Honourable J. X. Walcott, FB, J.P.

Appointed 4th February, 2022.

SELECT COMMITTEES

Committee of Selection

Standing Order 60(1)

His Honour the President (Chairman) ex officio, Senators the Hon. Ms. L. R. Cummins, Dr. C. K. M. Haynes and K. J. Boyce.

Appointed 4th February, 2022.

Standing Orders Committee

Standing Order 60(2)

His Honour the President (Chairman) ex officio, Senators the Hon. Ms. L. R. Cummins, Miss P. E. Parris, J.P., K. J. Boyce and Rev. Canon Dr. J. A. Rogers.

Appointed 21st March, 2022.

House Committee

Standing Order 60(3)

His Honour the President (Chairman) ex officio, Senators Dr. C. K. M. Haynes, A. A. O. Boyce, Ms. M. C. Taitt, Q.C. and A. W. Mallalieu.

Appointed 21st March, 2022.

Committee of Privileges

Standing Order 60(4)

His Honour the President (Chairman) ex officio, Senators Dr. the Most Honourable J. X. Walcott, FB, J.P., J. A. King, Mr. C. A. Maynard and Rev. Canon Dr. J. A. Rogers.

Appointed 21st March, 2022.

Regulations Committee

(Standing Order 60(5))

His Honour the President (Chairman) ex officio, Senators Her Honour Ms. H. E. Thompson, Dr. the Hon. S. M. Munro-Knight, Hon. L. E. Nurse and K. J. Boyce.

Appointed 21st March, 2022.

JOINT SELECT COMMITTEE (Standing Order 67)

LIBRARY COMMITTEE

Senators the Hon. Ms. L. R. Cummins, Dr. the Hon. S. M. Munro-Knight, Dr. C. K. M. Haynes, Hon. L. E. Nurse, K. J. Boyce and A. W. Mallalieu.

Appointed 21st March, 2022.

COMMITTEE OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTS (Standing Order 60(6))

Senators the Hon. Ms. L. R. Cummins, J. A. King, Hon. L. E. Nurse and Miss C. N. Drakes.

Appointed 21st March, 2022.

JOINT SELECT COMMITTEES (STANDING) (Standing Order 60A)

COMMITTEE ON GOVERNANCE AND POLICY MATTERS

Senators A. A. O. Boyce, Hon. L. E. Nurse and Dr. K. G. Hinds.

Appointed 17th May, 2023.

COMMITTEE ON ECONOMIC AND PRODUCTIVE SECTORS

Senators Dr. C. K. M. Haynes, Miss C. N. Drakes and A. W. Mallalieu.

Appointed 17th May, 2023.

COMMITTEE ON SOCIAL SECTOR AND THE ENVIRONMENT

Senators J. A. King, Rev. Canon Dr. J. A. Rogers and Dr. the Hon. C. W. DaC. Brathwaite.

Appointed 17th May, 2023.

ORDER OF BUSINESS

(Standing Order 11)

Formal entry of His Honour the President.

Prayers.

Messages from Her Excellency the President.

Announcements by His Honour the President.

Presentation of Petitions.

Presentation of Papers.

Reports from Select Committees.

Questions to Ministers.

Requests for leave to move the adjournment of the Senate on matters of urgent public importance.

Statements by Ministers or Parliamentary Secretaries.

Personal Explanations.

Motions relating to the Business or Sittings of the Senate and moved by a Minister.

Introduction of Bills.

Public Business.

Private Members' Business.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

1. Senator the Hon. Ms. L. R. Cummins: To move the Second Reading of the African Export-Import Bank Bill, 2024.

Notice of this Bill was given on 31st January, 2024.

The Bill was read a first time on 31st January, 2024.

The Bill was published in the Offical Gazette on 29th January, 2024.

2. Senator the Hon. Ms. L. R. Cummins: To move the Second Reading of the Barbados Revenue Authority (Appeals Tribunal) (Validation) Bill, 2024.

Notice of this Bill was given on 31st January, 2024.

The Bill was read a first time on 31st January, 2024.

The Bill was published in the Offical Gazette on 29th January, 2024.

QUESTIONS

PRIVATE MEMBERS' BUSINESS

SENATE

FIRST SESSION OF 2022 – 2027

ORDER PAPER

THIRTY-NINTH SITTING

Wednesday, 7th February, 2024

Government Printing Department Barbados.